At the roundabout, take the first exit. 

At the roundabout,

Turn left.

Says it, modern day navigation.

 

Turn left,

Like all those before.

Jammed in tiny

Metal

Vehicles.

Press escape to exit.

There’s even a toll to pay.

 

I could turn right,

Instead.

I argue back

Google Maps does not have

The alternative route

Planned.

 

At the roundabout,

The exits diverged into three.

And I,

I took the one less travelled by.

 

The motorway,

Recesses of empty road

Loneliness, the comforting kind.

The open, unedited skies

Free.

 

10 Comments

  1. You know, the heading you used… “take the first exit”, I literally heard it in my head as the GPS says it in my car…
    Lol, anyway beautiful piece.
    The kind of thing I would do.. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Can you tell I’ve been with Google Maps far too often… (btw you can mute the sound, totally recommend doing that)

      Always an honor to have you read my stuff, love you sister!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah yes people do that too, but I usually just prefer to stick to one route.. plus Kuwait has a routine kind of traffic so I always knows which route would be more convenient at what time. Lol.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

