Press Esc to exit.

Haven’t done one of these in a while, so here goes.

This is for the freaks that read the last chapter of a book to find out what happens because they can’t survive without knowing the ending. Or someone who skips to the end of a movie/show, ew. We’re always in such a hurry to know how it all ends. 

As a curious individual, I like knowing things, especially what’s oncoming. Hate going into situations blind, not knowing what’s around the corner. Unnecessary liability I really can’t afford to carry. Knowledge is power; power is dangerous. I’m 5’2”, do what you gotta innit.

Jokes aside, the intellect in me likes knowing about stuff, a lot of it.

Anyway, we all went to try this escape room. I’ve literally been begging everyone I know for the past 84 years to come with me, but women being women and being responsible, we only went once exams were done for the semester. Also, Groupon code, ’nuff said.

Yes, we did escape. Twice, we tried a second room.

It’s quite the experience, you’re willingingly locked into a well organised room. You have an hour to escape, and your only contact with the outside world is the little TV screen with the time and messages from the lady who runs the place, who gives you hints if your group is severely stupid.

You’re in the midst of a lot that makes no sense but there’s this underlying tone of order. In other words, one piece will lead to another and another, and you’ll reach the number for the door lock.

There were moments of frustration, confusion and few of euphoria. Because you know the answer is literally staring you in the face. Once we decrypted, deciphered and busted locks, we escaped.

It’s life in a nutshell. You’re thrown into some situation for a couple of years, and you take the frays of clues you have and you try and make sense of it all. You feel stuck, you feel lost. But in the end, somehow, you always make it out alive.

It’s cause we’re so damn impatient. We’re desperate to get to the escape, never enjoying the challenges along the way.

I had my final practical exam to escape the Radiography degree escape room. Now, when I say practical, our practicals are always with real patients, one every year. In first year, you have a simple walker with a sore wrist or something. In final year, you get the bruised and the broken, road traffic accidents, horse riding accidents – difficult patients. The images you produce have to be the same as a walker, but these patients are not with you half the time.

The majority of our class broke down in some way, shape or form during this day long practical. You start at 9 am, typically finish up around 4 pm. You image about 6-8 patients and review your images after. Usually by lunch, you hit a wall of exhaustion, and this is when the tears start.

I don’t do public crying, not my thing (see: 5’2”). My examiner, by lunch, looked at me and asked, ”Are you alright?”

”Ehm.. Yeah, I think so. For now.”

He laughed, ”Good, stay like that!”

By the end of the day, I’ve passed, and I know this. He looks at me, confused.

”This is where the tears should be coming and you tell me you could have done better”

”Well, like, life goes on, doesn’t it?”

”Yeah, life goes on, you can’t change anything now. So don’t worry your little head about it.”

I’ll call this the Theory of the Escape Room. The difficult thing will pass, you will get out. So don’t worry your little head about it. It’ll resolve when it does. There’s never a good reason for public tears, ever.

 

5 Comments

    1. Hey Asma,
      Funny how I just needed someone to remind me of my own words, and you commented that. Seriously, I needed to remind myself of this today too. Thank you for the comment, it means more than you’d think.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

